VATCAR Executive Committee

VACANT, Division Director

The Director’s duties are to provide leadership to the organization, approve all policies (Division & FIR) and be the direct link to VATSAMC. He also chairs the VATCAR’s executive committee.

Toby Turlington, Deputy Division Director

The Deputy Director’s duties are to replace the Director in his absence and to be the moderator for all topics of the VATCAR’s forum. The Deputy Director works in close partnership with the Director as advisor. He also serves as co-chair of the executive committee.

VACANT, Division Training Director

The Training Director duties are to oversee all VATCAR training procedures, testing procedures and promotions procedures. He is responsible to monitor the currency of VATCAR online exams. He is responsible to monitor the training and promotion procedures of the FIRs and to keep the Executive Committee informed as to their compliance to VATCAR and VATSIM policies. As Training Director, he/she approves promotions for senior controller, instructor, and senior instructor. He is a member of the VATCAR’s executive committee.

Byron MacRae, Deputy Division Training Director

The Assistant Training Director shadows the TD and provides support in the implementation and monitoring of VATCAR training program. In the absence of the Training Director he/she assumes duties of the training Director.

Diarra Hoyte, Events Director

The Events Director’s duties are to organize, promote events and be a liaison between VATCAR and the rest of VATSIM with regards Events. He is also responsible to establish and maintain communication with Virtual airlines and communicating with VATSIM, so as to have VATCAR Events posted in the VATSIM forum and on the VATSIM Homepage. He is a member of the VATCAR’s executive committee.

JianCarlos Paredes, Deputy Events Director

The Deputy Events Director assists the Events Director in organizing and promoting VATCAR and FIR events. In the absence of the Events Director he/she assumes duties of the Events Director

Roël Gonzalez, Information Systems Manager

The Information System Manager is responsible for the development and security of VATCAR’s information resources. This is includes but not limited to: Websites, databases, communications services and applications. He is a member of the VATCAR’s executive committee.

Juan Rodriguez, Division Conflict Resolution Manager

The Director of Conflict Resolution assists VATCAR in reviewing all formal complaints directed to the EC about alleged infractions of VATCAR or VATSIM codes of conduct and report and/or make recommendations to the EC regarding possible action. He also has duties related to the VATSIM Conflict Resolution Committee with responsibilities to VATSIM in keeping with this role.

Olante Douglas, Hit Squad Coordinator

The Hit Squad Coordinator is responsible for maintaining an active roster of controllers who are certified to control in all VATCAR FIR’s. Additionally this position works with FIRs to find additional controllers when needed by using the Hit Squad resources.

Dhagash Kapadia, Aeronautical Data Specialist

The Aeronautical Data Specialist is responsible for management of Aeronautical Data relevant to VATCAR, and it’s various uses across the Division. The Aeronautical Data Specialist position will act as the Facility Engineer for each VATCAR FIR in absence of a FIR Facility Engineer. They will be responsible for the creation, update, and management of FIR sector files, and will serve as a source of knowledge or assistance to each FIR Facility Engineer. Responsible for obtaining and updating aeronautical charts & AIPs, and management of the VATCAR Aeronautical Chart library.

VATCAR Air Traffic Managers

David Downs, Curacao FIR

Miguel A. Armas, Havana FIR

Njeri Carroo, Kingston FIR


Justin Edwards, Piarco FIR


Ernesto Martinez, Santo Domingo & Port-Au-Prince FIR

Caribbean Division Supervisors

EJ Davis
Mark Smith
Hal Butts
Oliver Gibbons
Barry Theodore
Ernesto Martinez
David Downs


Roël Gonzalez, VATCAR7 / Lead
Justin Edwards, Team Member
Jiancarlos Paredes, Team Member